# Bedsheets

Choose sheets by fibre, then weave, then mattress height: cotton percale is crisp and cool, cotton sateen smooth and warmer, linen airy and wrinkly, flannel warm. Thread count matters only inside a weave's band and is often inflated by counting plies. Cotton quality beats thread count, and washed fitted sheets often fit shallower mattresses than the pack says.

## How it works

A sheet is yarn spun from fibre, then woven or knitted. Fibre sets the baseline: cotton absorbs sweat and breathes, linen is airier and crisper, polyester barely absorbs and traps heat, and viscose or lyocell made from wood or bamboo is silky but viscose weakens when wet. Staple length sets yarn quality: longer cotton fibres (Pima, 1⅜ inches or more) spin finer, stronger yarn with fewer loose ends to pill. Construction sets the feel: percale's one-over, one-under lattice is matte, crisp and cool; sateen floats each yarn over three or four others for a smooth, lustrous, warmer surface that snags more easily; flannel is brushed plain weave; jersey is knitted. Thread count counts woven yarns per square inch, so it describes density within one weave, not quality across weaves. [33] [20] [12] [13] [35] [34] [29] [22] [24] [25] [27] [30] [1]

| Family | What it is | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Cotton percale | Plain one-over, one-under weave, matte and crisp, usually 200 to 400 thread count; wrinkles. | Hot sleepers and people who like a hotel-crisp bed. |
| Cotton sateen | Floated weave with a soft sheen and heavier drape, usually 300 to 600 thread count; resists wrinkles, snags sooner. | People who want smooth and silky and do not sleep hot. |
| Linen | Flax fibre in a plain weave, sold by weight (about 165 to 190 GSM), textured, wrinkles freely, softens with washing. | Hot climates and people who like a relaxed, rumpled bed. |
| Flannel and jersey | Brushed plain-weave cotton (flannel) or T-shirt knit (jersey), sold by weight, with no meaningful thread count. | Cold sleepers and winter (flannel); people who want stretch (jersey). |
| Lyocell and bamboo viscose | Regenerated cellulose fibres with a very smooth hand; viscose shrinks a lot and weakens when wet. | People who want a silky hand without silk. |
| Polyester microfiber | Fine synthetic filaments, sold by weight, barely shrinks or wrinkles, does not absorb sweat. | Low-cost, easy-care beds for people who do not sleep hot. |

## How an expert narrows the choice

```mermaid
timeline
  section 1 · Fibre
    cotton : ask Cotton grade : skip Linen finish
    linen : ask Fabric weight, Linen finish : skip Weave, Cotton grade
    polyester microfiber : ask Fabric weight : skip Thread count, Yarn ply, Cotton grade, Linen finish
    lyocell (Tencel) / bamboo viscose : skip Cotton grade, Linen finish
  section 2 · Weave
    percale : ask Thread count, Wrinkle behaviour
    sateen : ask Thread count, Wear over time
    flannel / jersey knit : ask Fabric weight : skip Thread count, Yarn ply
  section 3 · Pocket depth
    How tall is your mattress, topper included?
```

1. **Fibre.** Cotton, linen, Tencel or bamboo, or polyester microfiber?
   Fibre decides which numbers apply: thread count for woven cotton, lyocell and viscose, weight for linen and microfiber. Titles almost always name it, and a linen answer skips the weave question.
   If cotton: ask Cotton grade; skip Linen finish.
   If linen: ask Fabric weight, Linen finish; skip Weave, Cotton grade.
   If polyester microfiber: ask Fabric weight; skip Thread count, Yarn ply, Cotton grade, Linen finish.
   If lyocell (Tencel) or bamboo viscose: skip Cotton grade, Linen finish.
   Skip if already known: fibre named in the query (for example 'linen sheets'), an earlier fibre answer in this session.

2. **Weave.** Crisp and cool, smooth and silky, warm and brushed, or stretchy?
   Among cotton, lyocell and viscose sheets, weave is the difference a sleeper feels: percale cool and crisp, sateen smooth and warmer, flannel warm. Most cotton sheets are percale or sateen, so either answer removes most of the other.
   If percale: ask Thread count, Wrinkle behaviour.
   If sateen: ask Thread count, Wear over time.
   If flannel or jersey knit: ask Fabric weight; skip Thread count, Yarn ply.
   Skip if already known: weave named in the query.

3. **Pocket depth.** How tall is your mattress, topper included?
   Consumer Reports found only a few cotton sets still fit a 14-inch mattress after a year of washing, and some failed an 8-inch one, so height removes sets even for ordinary beds. Anyone can measure it.
   Skip if already known: mattress height or model in memory, topper mentioned earlier.

## What to surface

### Weave

How the yarns are interlaced: percale is one over, one under; sateen floats yarns over several others; flannel is brushed; jersey is knitted. Weave decides feel and temperature more than thread count does. Percale is matte, crisp and cool, and wrinkles. Sateen is smooth, lustrous, heavier and warmer, resists wrinkles, and snags and loses its sheen sooner. Flannel is brushed for warmth; jersey stretches like a T-shirt. Linen sheets are sold as linen, not by weave. [20] [21] [33] [29] [34] [23] [40] [41]

Values: percale, sateen, flannel, jersey knit, twill or other.
Question to ask: Crisp and cool, smooth and silky, warm and brushed, or stretchy?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Usually in the title ('Percale', 'Sateen', 'Flannel', 'Jersey'); brand pages repeat it in the description.
When absent, 'crisp', 'matte' or 'hotel' in the copy suggest percale and 'silky' or 'lustrous' sateen. Flag as inferred.
Chart: Cool-to-warm feel scale.

### Fibre

The fibre the sheet is made of, which must be on the label and, whenever an ad names or implies a fibre, in the ad too. Fibre decides which other numbers mean anything: thread count applies to woven cotton, lyocell and viscose, while linen and microfiber are sold by weight. Consumer Reports' cotton sets shrank up to 6 percent and its polyester set hardly at all, though polyester traps heat and does not absorb sweat. Bamboo is legally viscose (rayon) or lyocell; Consumer Reports measured bamboo viscose shrinking more than 15 percent, and cheap viscose pills. [3] [4] [5] [22] [24] [33] [26] [25]

Values: cotton, linen, lyocell (Tencel), bamboo viscose, polyester microfiber, cotton-polyester blend, no preference.
Question to ask: Cotton, linen, Tencel or bamboo, or polyester microfiber?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: Title and the fibre-content line ('100% cotton'). FTC rules require the generic fibre name in any ad that names or implies a fibre, so titles that say 'cotton' or 'bamboo' must carry it. Map 'bamboo' to bamboo viscose unless lyocell is stated.
Almost always in the title. When absent, the care label photo carries it.
Chart: Cool-to-warm feel scale.

### Pocket depth

The depth of the fitted sheet's corner pocket, in inches, as stated for the new, unwashed sheet. It decides whether the fitted sheet stays on, and the stated depth describes the new sheet. Consumer Reports found every cotton set fit its claimed depth when new, but after a year of washing only a few fit a 14-inch mattress, some failed an 8-inch one, and a set sold for 18 inches failed a 10-inch one. Fabric shrinkage alone does not explain that, so treat stated depth as a ceiling. [22] [38] [39] [28] [41] [43]

Range: Sleep Foundation says many sets offer 14 inches or less; deep-pocket picks state 16 to 22 inches.
Question to ask: How tall is your mattress, topper included?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Often in the marketplace title ('16" Deep Pocket'); on brand pages in the size table. Some titles say only 'Deep Pocket', and Consumer Reports notes not all packages state a depth.
Brand size guide. When depth is null or only 'deep pocket', do not exclude the set: keep it, flag 'depth not stated' and rank it below sets whose best-case depth clears the mattress.
Chart: Fit after a year.

### Wrinkle behaviour

How the sheet comes out of the dryer, set by its weave and fibre or by a wrinkle-resistant finish. Percale and linen wrinkle; sateen and polyester resist it. Some cotton sets get there with a wrinkle-resistant finish, and Wirecutter warns that 'wrinkle-free' labels can mean formaldehyde, which causes rashes for some people; GAO confirms formaldehyde is used for wrinkle resistance in cotton. OEKO-TEX Standard 100 caps it at 75 mg/kg for bed linen. [20] [21] [33] [29] [27] [37] [8]

Values: wrinkles freely, resists wrinkles, wrinkle-resistant finish.
Question to ask: Fine with rumpled, or want them smooth without ironing?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost none. Look for it as: Derived from fibre and weave. Title words 'wrinkle-free', 'non-iron' or 'wrinkle guard' mark a finish.
Linen and percale: wrinkles freely. Sateen and polyester: resists wrinkles. Finish words override both.

### Linen finish

Whether linen sheets were stone- or garment-washed before sale, or sold raw. Raw linen starts crisper and softens over many washes. Stone- or garment-washing does that work in the factory, so the sheet feels soft and lived-in from the first night. Expect lint for the first few washes either way; Parachute says about five. [27] [40] [41]

Values: stone- or garment-washed, raw.
Question to ask: Soft from day one, or happy to break it in?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Title or description words 'stonewashed', 'garment-washed', 'pre-washed'.
Record raw only when the page says so; otherwise leave unknown. Brand pages state the finish.

### Set contents

What the price covers: fitted sheet, flat sheet and how many pillowcases. Sets differ in ways that change what a price buys. Twin sets usually carry one pillowcase, king sets king-size cases, and some brands sell sets with no flat sheet. Comparing a three-piece set with a four-piece one on price alone misleads. [40] [28] [32]

Values: full set (flat, fitted, pillowcases), no flat sheet, fitted sheet only, flat sheet only.
Question to ask: Need a flat sheet, or just fitted and pillowcases?

Used as: filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: Title ('4-Piece', 'Sheet Set', 'No Flat Sheet') and the 'includes' line.

### Cotton grade

Which cotton the listing claims, by staple length and variety: unspecified (usually upland), long-staple, Pima, Supima or Egyptian. Wirecutter ranks cotton quality above thread count. Longer fibres leave fewer loose ends, so yarn is finer, stronger and pills less. Upland, the common species, is shorter; Pima is extra-long staple, 1⅜ inches or more. Supima is a licensed, forensically tested mark for American Pima. Egyptian is the most faked claim: Target pulled Welspun sheets in 2016, and in 2016 the Cotton Egypt Association said 90 percent of products it tested contained none. [20] [12] [13] [35] [15] [14] [16] [26] [17] [18] [19]

Values: unspecified, long-staple, Pima, Supima, Egyptian.

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: In the title or first bullet when claimed ('Supima', '100% Egyptian Cotton', 'long-staple'). No claim usually means upland, the most common cotton in sheets.
Record the claim as stated; unspecified when there is none. Whether the claim is verified lives in certifications, which is researched.

### Bed size

The mattress size the set fits, from twin to California king and split king. It is a hard filter but not a split. Brands offer each set in every size (Brooklinen and Parachute run twin to California king), so the answer picks a variant rather than removing products. Split king sets carry two fitted sheets. Take it from memory or the query and never ask twice. [40] [41] [28]

Values: twin, twin XL, full, queen, king, California king, split king.
Question to ask: What size is the bed?

Used as: filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: Size selector on every listing; also in the title.

### Certifications

Third-party marks: OEKO-TEX Standard 100 for harmful substances, GOTS for organic fibre and processing, and licensed origin marks for Supima and Egyptian cotton. They answer different questions. OEKO-TEX Standard 100 tests the finished sheet for harmful substances, with bed linen in its skin-contact class, but says nothing about organic growing or factory chemicals. GOTS requires 95 percent certified organic fibre for 'organic' and 70 percent for 'made with organic'. Supima and the Egyptian Cotton logo are licensed and origin-tested, so they are what verifies a cotton claim. [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [24] [41] [15] [16] [19] [18]

Values: none stated, OEKO-TEX Standard 100, GOTS organic, GOTS made with organic, Supima licensed, Egyptian Cotton logo licensed.
Question to ask: Certified organic, or tested for harmful substances?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Brand pages give the OEKO-TEX certificate number (for example '16.HUS.93300 Hohenstein HTTI'); some marketplace titles say 'OEKO-TEX'.
One brand-page lookup. Verify OEKO-TEX and GOTS numbers in their databases, and Egyptian Cotton logo licensing with the Egyptian Cotton Association, for the top N; record unverified claims as stated.

### Thread count

Yarns per square inch, warp plus weft, with each plied yarn counted once under ASTM D3775; it applies only to woven fabric. It is the number listings lead with and the weakest predictor: Consumer Reports found no correlation between claimed thread count and performance. Inside a weave's band it signals density, so higher means smoother, heavier and warmer. Above the band it buys nothing. Claims from about 900 to 1,000 up are suspect, often because plies were counted separately, which FTC staff call likely deceptive. [22] [23] [20] [25] [33] [1] [40] [41]

Range: Percale is best at 200 to 300 (Wirecutter) or up to 400 (Sleep Foundation); sateen at 300 to 600. Sleep Foundation puts linen at 80 to 140. Tester picks sit at 250 to 300 for percale and 400 to 495 for sateen.

Used as: shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: In the title as 'NNN Thread Count' or 'NNN TC'. Some premium brands, such as Parachute, omit it. A '1800' on microfiber is not a thread count; microfiber is sold by GSM.
Leave null when not stated; never estimate. Null for flannel, jersey and microfiber. On linen, a count well above Sleep Foundation's 80 to 140 is a red flag, not a selling point.
Chart: Thread count band.

### Fabric weight

Fabric weight in grams per square metre (GSM), which replaces thread count for linen, flannel, jersey and microfiber. For fabrics without a meaningful thread count, weight is the density number: heavier is warmer, more opaque and usually sturdier, lighter is airier. Flannel runs from about 140 GSM (lightweight) to about 200 GSM (dense); linen sets cluster at 165 to 190 GSM. Weight alone does not settle quality, since yarn and finish matter too. [25] [27] [30] [41] [42] [40]

Range: Linen sets cluster at 165 to 190 GSM; flannel sits between about 140 and 200 GSM.

Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: Not in marketplace titles. On brand pages for linen and flannel ('175 GSM'); flannel sometimes in ounces per square yard ('5oz').
Brand page where stated; some brands (Brooklinen linen) state none, and Sleep Foundation advises asking customer service. Backfill the top N. Convert ounces per square yard to GSM by multiplying by 33.9. Leave null for woven cotton percale and sateen.
Chart: Cool-to-warm feel scale.

### Wear over time

How the sheet's feel and look change over a year of washing, derived from fibre, weave and cotton grade. Brands sell percale and linen as softening with every wash, and Wirecutter says its percale pick softens with age. Sateen's sheen fades and its floats snag; cheap bamboo viscose pills. Consumer Reports' 2024 panel, though, found no change in cotton softness after a year, so judge the hand when new. Short-staple cotton pills sooner than long-staple. [40] [27] [21] [29] [34] [24] [22] [35]

Values: softens with washing, holds its feel, sheen fades, may snag, prone to pilling.

Used as: shown on the card. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost none. Look for it as: Not a listing field. Brand copy says 'gets softer with every wash', which is a claim, not a measurement.
Linen: softens with washing. Sateen: sheen fades, may snag. Bamboo viscose: prone to pilling (CHOICE, for cheap sets). Cotton percale: holds its feel (Consumer Reports found no softness change). Leave others unknown.
Chart: timeline from new to one year of washing, one lane per value.

### Yarn ply

How many strands are twisted into each yarn counted in the thread count. Ply is how a 300-count sheet becomes '600' or '1,250' on the pack. FTC staff wrote in 2005 that the honest form is '300 thread count, 2 ply yarn' and that calling it 600 would likely mislead. A 2023 lawsuit alleges a 1,250-count Sealy set is closer to 286. Sleep Foundation calls multi-ply yarns usually lower quality. [1] [2] [25] [23]

Values: single-ply, multi-ply (disclosed), not stated.

Used as: shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: Rarely stated. When it is, it follows the count ('2-ply'). A claim of about 900 or more with no ply statement is suspect.
Brand FAQ or spec page for the top N high-count sets only. Otherwise mark claims from about 900 up as suspect, not as multi-ply.

## Numbers worth computing

| Metric | Formula | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Single-ply thread count (threads per square inch) | `thread_count / plies only when the stated count is known to include plies (a claim of about 900 or more with a ply statement, or wording that counts each ply); otherwise thread_count unchanged` | The count ASTM D3775 would report. An honest '300 thread count, 2 ply yarn' stays 300; a ply-multiplied '600' becomes 300, so sheets compare on one basis. [1] [2] |
| Best-case pocket depth after washing (in) | `pocket_depth × (1 − s), with s = 0.06 for cotton (Consumer Reports' worst fabric shrink), 0.15 for bamboo viscose (Consumer Reports), 0 for polyester (Consumer Reports: 'hardly shrank'); unknown for other fibres` | An upper bound, not a prediction. It counts fabric shrinkage only; Consumer Reports saw cotton sets fail far shallower mattresses than shrinkage explains, so a sheet that fails this test will certainly fail, and one that passes may still. [22] [24] [38] [31] |
| Best-case pocket margin (in) | `post_wash_pocket_depth − (mattress height + topper height)` | SGI advises about 2 inches over mattress plus topper on the stated new pocket; Sferra, 4 inches over the mattress. Applying 2 inches to the best-case washed depth is our synthesis, and still optimistic. [39] [38] |

## What you give up

- Sateen's floats give the silky, lustrous hand and the heavier drape, and they also hold more heat, snag more easily and lose their sheen with washing. Percale gives that back as a cooler, tougher, wrinklier sheet. [20] [29] [33] [34] Board branch: "See more cool, crisp sheets".
- Packing in more threads, or more grams for flannel and linen, makes a sheet smoother, more opaque and warmer until airflow suffers. Past a weave's band the count buys price, not feel. [25] [20] [40] [30] Board branch: "See more breathable sheets".
- Polyester barely shrinks or wrinkles, but it does not absorb sweat and it traps heat. A wrinkle-resistant finish keeps cotton smooth, sometimes with formaldehyde. [22] [26] [33] [20] [37] Board branch: "See more untreated natural-fibre sheets".
- Bamboo viscose feels silky and absorbs well, but it shrank more than 15 percent in Consumer Reports' test, weakens when wet, and cheap sets pill. [22] [24] Board branch: "See more cotton sateen".
- Linen is airy and softens with washing, but it wrinkles freely, sheds lint for the first few washes and is compared by weight rather than thread count. [27] [41] [25] Board branch: "See more linen".

## How to draw it

**Cool-to-warm feel scale** (scale, shows Fibre, Weave, Fabric weight, Thread count). One line from cool and crisp to warm and smooth: linen and percale at the cool end, sateen in the middle, flannel at the warm end, with weight or thread count nudging each sheet within its band. It shows the density-for-breathability trade at a glance. Used today by Proposal. Reviewers and retailer guides order fabrics this way in prose (Wirecutter: percale cool, sateen warmer); no standard chart exists.. [20] [25] [30] [29]

**Fit after a year** (range, shows Pocket depth, Fibre). One bar per sheet from stated pocket depth down to its best-case washed depth, with any reviewer's tested fit marked, against a line at the buyer's mattress-plus-topper height. Bars that miss the line will not fit; bars that clear it may still fail. Used today by Proposal, modelled on Consumer Reports' test of fit on mattresses of different depths after 25 washes.. [22] [38]

**Thread count band** (scale, shows Thread count, Weave, Yarn ply). A thread-count axis with percale's 200-to-400 band and sateen's 300-to-600 band shaded and claims from about 900 up marked as suspect. It shows a '1,250' claim as off the scale rather than as the best sheet. Used today by Proposal from Wirecutter's and Sleep Foundation's bands.. [20] [25] [23] [1]

## Words you will meet

- **Thread count**. The number of yarns running both ways in one square inch of woven fabric.
- **Ply**. The number of thin strands twisted together to make one yarn.
- **Percale**. A plain weave where each yarn goes over one and under one, giving a matte, crisp fabric.
- **Sateen**. A cotton weave where yarns skip over three or four others, giving a smooth, slightly shiny surface.
- **Flannel**. Plain-woven cotton brushed so its surface is fuzzy and warm.
- **Jersey**. A knitted fabric, like a T-shirt, that stretches; it has no thread count because it is not woven.
- **Staple length**. The length of the individual cotton fibres before they are spun into yarn.
- **Extra-long staple (ELS)**. Cotton with fibres 1⅜ inches or longer, such as Pima and the finest Egyptian varieties.
- **Upland cotton**. The common cotton species, with shorter fibres than Pima, used in most sheets.
- **Pima**. An extra-long-staple cotton; unlike Supima, the name carries no licence or origin test.
- **Supima**. A licensed trademark for 100 percent American-grown Pima, checked by origin testing.
- **Egyptian cotton**. Cotton grown in Egypt; the Egyptian Cotton logo, licensed and DNA-tested by the Egyptian Cotton Association, is what verifies it.
- **Combed cotton**. Cotton brushed before spinning to remove short fibres, which makes a smoother, stronger yarn.
- **Viscose (rayon)**. A fibre made by dissolving plant cellulose, often from bamboo, in chemicals and spinning it back into thread.
- **Lyocell (Tencel)**. A cellulose fibre like viscose but made with a solvent that is mostly recovered and reused; Tencel is a brand name for it.
- **Microfiber**. Very fine polyester or nylon filaments woven into a soft, smooth sheet.
- **GSM**. Grams per square metre, the weight of a fabric, used where thread count does not apply.
- **Pocket depth**. How deep the corners of a fitted sheet are, which must exceed the mattress height.
- **Stonewashed or garment-washed**. Linen washed in the factory, sometimes with stones, so it is soft when you buy it.
- **Wrinkle-resistant finish**. A chemical treatment, sometimes formaldehyde-based, that keeps cotton smooth after washing.
- **OEKO-TEX Standard 100**. A label saying the finished textile passed a lab test for a list of harmful substances.
- **GOTS**. The Global Organic Textile Standard, which certifies organic fibre content and how the fabric was processed.

## Where we made a call

- Fibre and weave decide how a sheet feels and sleeps; thread count is a weak signal once it sits inside its weave's band. (confidence high). Wirecutter, Consumer Reports, Sleep Foundation and Kentucky Extension agree. CR found no correlation between claimed thread count and performance, and its top-rated set (350) beat a 550-count Supima set. [20] [22] [25] [33]
- Thread count stops helping around 300 to 400 for percale and 600 for sateen; claims from about 900 up are suspect. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. Wirecutter says percale 200 to 300, Sleep Foundation 200 to 400, CR one 400 sweet spot. Wirecutter and Sleep Foundation put sateen's top near 600. Sleep Foundation calls ply counting one common tactic. High confidence only that ply-multiplied counts are likely deceptive (FTC staff). [20] [25] [23] [1]
- An 'Egyptian cotton' claim is weak evidence unless the product carries the licensed Egyptian Cotton logo, the DNA-tested seal. (confidence medium). In 2016 the Cotton Egypt Association said 90 percent of products it tested contained none, across six markets, method unpublished; one originator. Target pulled mislabelled Welspun sheets that year. Supima is the checkable equivalent for Pima. [18] [19] [17] [15]
- Cotton sheets may not soften much with washing, whatever brands say, so judge the feel when new. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. Brooklinen, Parachute and Wirecutter's percale pick say cotton softens; Consumer Reports' 2024 panel found no change after a year. We side with CR because it measured. Linen softening is not contested. [22] [40] [21] [27]
- Stated pocket depth describes the new sheet; after a year of washing many cotton sets fit far shallower mattresses. (confidence medium). Consumer Reports: all cotton sets fit their claimed depth new; after 25 washes only a few fit 14 inches and one sold for 18 failed 10. Fabric shrink (CR up to 6 percent, Sferra 5.4 in depth) explains only part. One tester. [22] [38]
- 'Deep pocket' has no fixed meaning, so compare inches, not labels. (confidence high). Sources disagree. Sleep Foundation puts deep at up to 15 inches, SGI at 13 to 17. Allowance advice runs from 2 inches (SGI) to 4 (Sferra, new sheet). We use post-wash depth plus about 2 inches. [28] [39] [38]
- 'Bamboo' sheets are viscose or lyocell, and the plant's claimed properties do not survive processing. (confidence high). FTC guidance and its 2022 penalties against Kohl's and Walmart; CHOICE agrees. Lyocell recovers most of its solvent; viscose uses harsher chemicals such as carbon disulphide. [4] [5] [6] [24] [36]
- Mattress height belongs among the splits; bed size is a filter taken from memory. (confidence medium). Ours. Every set comes in every size, so bed size picks a variant. Mattress height removes sets even for ordinary beds, because Consumer Reports saw washed cotton sets fail 14-inch and some 8-inch mattresses. [40] [41] [22]
- OEKO-TEX Standard 100 means the finished sheet passed a harmful-substance test, not that it is organic or cleanly made. (confidence high). OEKO-TEX's own description and limit tables; CHOICE and Q for Quinn make the same point. GOTS covers organic fibre and processing. [7] [8] [24] [9] [10]
- Polyester microfiber is the easy-care choice and the wrong one for hot sleepers. (confidence medium). CR: polyester barely shrank but does not absorb sweat. Sleep Foundation and Kentucky Extension: it traps heat. [22] [26] [33]

## References

1. [FTC staff opinion letter to the National Textile Association on thread count, 2 August 2005](https://www.ftc.gov/sites/default/files/documents/advisory_opinions/national-textile-association/natltextileassn.pdf) (regulator). Supports: Counting plies separately is likely deceptive; '300 thread count, 2 ply yarn' is the honest form.; ASTM D3775 counts each plied yarn once.; Thread count is voluntary under textile labelling law but policed as advertising..
2. [Shaw v. American Textile Co., complaint, S.D.N.Y. 1:23-cv-10193, 2023](https://truthinadvertising.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/10/Shaw-v-American-Textile-Co-complaint.pdf) (other). Supports: Alleges a Sealy '1250 thread count' set is closer to 286.; Quotes ATMI: 250 four-ply yarns are a 250 count, not 1,000..
3. [FTC, Threading Your Way Through the Labeling Requirements Under the Textile and Wool Acts](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/threading-your-way-through-labeling-requirements-under-textile-wool-acts) (regulator). Supports: Labels carry generic fibre names; ads that name or imply a fibre must repeat fibre content..
4. [FTC, How to Avoid Bamboozling Your Customers](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/how-avoid-bamboozling-your-customers) (regulator). Supports: Bamboo-derived fibre must be labelled rayon or 'rayon made from bamboo'; no plant properties survive..
5. [FTC press release: largest-ever civil penalty for bogus bamboo marketing, 8 April 2022](https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2022/04/ftc-uses-penalty-offense-authority-seek-largest-ever-civil-penalty-bogus-bamboo-marketing-kohls) (regulator). Supports: Kohl's and Walmart paid $2.5 million and $3 million for selling rayon as bamboo.; Rayon manufacturing uses toxic chemicals and emits hazardous pollutants..
6. [Bergeson & Campbell, FTC announces settlements with Kohl's and Walmart for bogus bamboo marketing](https://www.lawbc.com/ftc-announces-settlements-with-kohls-and-walmart-for-bogus-bamboo-marketing/) (other). Supports: Confirms the $2.5 million and $3 million penalties and the order to stop unsubstantiated bamboo claims..
7. [OEKO-TEX, STANDARD 100](https://www.oeko-tex.com/en/our-standards/oeko-tex-standard-100) (standards body). Supports: Tests finished textiles for harmful substances; bed linen is Class 2, skin contact.; Labels are checkable by certificate number in Label Check..
8. [OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100 limit values, Edition 02.2025](https://www.oeko-tex.com/importedmedia/downloadfiles/OEKO-TEX_STANDARD_100_Limit_Values_and_Individual_Substances_According_to_Appendices_4_5_EN_DE.pdf) (standards body). Supports: Formaldehyde limit for skin-contact textiles (Class II) is 75 mg/kg..
9. [Q for Quinn, OEKO-TEX Standard 100: what it tests and certifies](https://www.qforquinn.com/blogs/news/what-is-oeko-tex-certified) (primer). Supports: Class II formaldehyde limit of 75 mg/kg; OEKO-TEX does not mean organic..
10. [Global Standard, GOTS key features](https://global-standards.org/our-standards/gots/key-features) (standards body). Supports: 'Organic' needs 95 percent certified organic fibre, 'made with organic' 70 percent, plus processing criteria..
11. [Vottera, What is GOTS: complete guide](https://vottera.com/blogs/news/what-is-gots-complete-guide) (primer). Supports: Confirms the 95 and 70 percent grades and licence numbers checkable in the GOTS database..
12. [USDA Economic Research Service, Cotton Sector at a Glance](https://www.ers.usda.gov/topics/crops/cotton-and-wool/cotton-sector-at-a-glance) (regulator). Supports: Pima is 1⅜ inches or longer; upland fibre is shorter..
13. [Wikipedia, Staple (textiles)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Staple_(textiles)) (primer). Supports: ICAC defines extra-long staple as 1⅜ inches (35 mm) or longer.; Short fibres make hairy, irregular yarn; fine yarn needs long fibres..
14. [Wikipedia, Gossypium barbadense](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gossypium_barbadense) (primer). Supports: Supima is a growers' trademark for American Pima fibre..
15. [Supima, Brand guidelines 1.0, 2019](https://supima.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/2019-SUPIMA-IDENTITY-GUIDELINES.pdf) (spec sheet). Supports: Supima is 100 percent extra-long staple cotton grown in the American west and southwest.; Oritain origin fingerprinting identifies blended or substituted cotton..
16. [Oritain, Oritain maps Supima cotton origin, 7 May 2019](https://oritain.com/resources/news/oritain-maps-supima-cotton-origin-tackling-fraud-in-the-global-cotton-supply-chain-and-enabling-the-first-true-authentication-of-premium-cotton-fibre) (other). Supports: Supima is licensed and forensically verified; premium cotton is often blended or substituted..
17. [NBC Chicago, Target refunding sheets found to be phony Egyptian cotton, 2016](https://nbcchicago.com/news/local/target-refunding-millions-of-dollars-worth-of-sheets-391057772.html) (other). Supports: Welspun substituted non-Egyptian cotton in Target's Fieldcrest and Crowning Touch sheets, 2014 to 2016..
18. [Home Textiles Today, Calling out Egyptian cotton fakery, 16 March 2016](https://www.hometextilestoday.com/industry-news/calling-out-egyptian-cotton-fakery/) (other). Supports: The Cotton Egypt Association said 90 percent of 'Egyptian cotton' products it tested contained none.; Welspun and two others certified for the DNA-based Egyptian Cotton Gold Seal..
19. [Egyptian Cotton Association, About](https://www.egyptiancottonassociation.com/cotton-egypt-association/) (standards body). Supports: The Egyptian Cotton Association licenses the Egyptian Cotton logo and DNA-tests supply chains with Bureau Veritas..
20. [Wirecutter, The Best Cotton Sheets (archived 28 Dec 2025)](https://web.archive.org/web/20251228105728/https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/reviews/best-cotton-sheets/) (specialist review). Supports: Cotton quality matters more than thread count or origin; long-staple and ELS make the best sheets.; Percale 200 to 300 and sateen 300 to 600 thread count.; Percale is crisp and cool; sateen is heavier and warmer.; 'Wrinkle-free' sheets may carry formaldehyde..
21. [Wirecutter, The Best Sheets (archived 28 Dec 2025)](https://web.archive.org/web/20251228105716/https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/reviews/best-sheets/) (specialist review). Supports: Sateen is warmer, less breathable and nearly wrinkle-free; percale pick softens with age.; Bamboo viscose solvent pollutes; lyocell is less environmentally harmful..
22. [Consumer Reports, 5 Things to Know Before Buying Bedsheets, updated 8 March 2024](https://www.consumerreports.org/home-garden/sheets/things-to-know-before-buying-sheets-a9843459169/) (specialist review). Supports: No correlation between claimed thread count and performance.; Cotton shrank up to 6 percent; bamboo viscose more than 15; polyester hardly at all.; After a year only a few cotton sets fit 14 inches; an '18-inch' set failed 10.; No softness change after a year of washing; polyester does not absorb sweat..
23. [Consumer Reports, Higher thread count doesn't guarantee better sheets, September 2013](https://www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/2013/09/higher-thread-count-doesn-t-guarantee-better-sheets/index.htm) (specialist review). Supports: CR's textile expert: the sweet spot is 400; 1,000-count sheets cannot fit on a loom.; Top percale sheet had a 280 thread count..
24. [CHOICE, Cotton vs bamboo: which is best for bed sheets?](https://www.choice.com.au/home-and-living/bedroom/mattresses/articles/cotton-vs-bamboo-sheets) (specialist review). Supports: Bamboo textiles are usually viscose or lyocell; viscose weakens when wet and cheap sets pill.; Relays CR: cotton shrank up to 6 percent, bamboo viscose up to 15.; OEKO-TEX tests the finished product, not the manufacturing chemicals..
25. [Sleep Foundation, Best thread count for sheets](https://www.sleepfoundation.org/bedding-information/best-thread-count-for-sheets) (specialist review). Supports: Percale 200 to 400, sateen 300 to 600, linen 80 to 140, with high linen counts discouraged.; Microfiber, flannel and jersey are measured in GSM.; Too many threads stifle airflow; ply counting is a common inflation tactic..
26. [Sleep Foundation, Microfiber vs cotton sheets](https://www.sleepfoundation.org/best-sheets/microfiber-vs-cotton-sheets) (specialist review). Supports: Upland is the most common cotton in sheets; microfiber traps more heat than cotton..
27. [Sleep Foundation, Best linen sheets](https://www.sleepfoundation.org/best-sheets/best-linen-sheets) (specialist review). Supports: Linen ideally 170 to 190 GSM; softens with washing; wrinkles; ask brands for GSM if unlisted..
28. [Sleep Foundation, Best deep pocket sheets](https://www.sleepfoundation.org/best-sheets/best-deep-pocket-sheets) (specialist review). Supports: Many sets offer 14 inches or less; deep-pocket picks state 16 to 22 inches.; Split king sets include two fitted sheets..
29. [NapLab, Percale vs sateen](https://naplab.com/guides/percale-vs-sateen/) (specialist review). Supports: Sateen is heavier, less breathable and warmer; its sheen fades and it snags and pills.; Percale wrinkles..
30. [Mattress Clarity, Best flannel sheets](https://www.mattressclarity.com/bedding/sheets/best-flannel-sheets/) (specialist review). Supports: Flannel lists weight, not thread count: about 165 GSM light, 200 GSM and up dense.; Brooklinen flannel is 140 GSM, a lightweight option..
31. [Tom's Guide, How we test bed sheets](https://www.tomsguide.com/mattresses/pillows-bedding/bed-sheet-testing-methodology) (specialist review). Supports: Reviewers re-measure sheets after washing for shrinkage and check thread-count claims..
32. [NBC Select, Best sheets](https://www.nbcnews.com/select/shopping/best-sheets-rcna262463) (specialist review). Supports: Reviewer cards list thread count and pieces included per set..
33. [University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension, Selecting Sheets for Restful Sleep, February 2023](https://fcs.mgcafe.uky.edu/sites/fcs.mgcafe.uky.edu/files/SelectingSheets-HealthBulletin.pdf) (academic). Supports: Feel comes from fibre, construction and thread count together.; Sateen resists wrinkles but snags; high-polyester sheets trap heat; bamboo becomes rayon..
34. [Wikipedia, Sateen](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sateen) (primer). Supports: Satin weaves float four over one; sateen is less durable than plain weave..
35. [Textile School, Influence of fiber length on yarn strength](https://www.textileschool.com/9959/influence-of-fiber-length-on-yarn-strength/) (primer). Supports: Long-staple yarn is stronger and pills less; combing removes short fibres..
36. [Wikipedia, Lyocell](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyocell) (primer). Supports: Lyocell uses a direct, mostly recovered solvent rather than the viscose route..
37. [GAO-10-875, Formaldehyde: levels in tested textiles, 2010](https://www.gao.gov/products/gao-10-875) (regulator). Supports: Formaldehyde is used for wrinkle resistance, especially in cotton; it causes dermatitis in some people..
38. [Aulit Fine Linens, Why does cotton shrink? (Sferra measurements)](https://www.aulitfinelinens.com/blogs/betweenthesheets/6699374-q-a-why-does-cotton-shrink) (spec sheet). Supports: A Sferra king fitted sheet shrank 3.7, 4.2 and 5.4 percent in width, length and depth.; Sferra recommends pocket depth of mattress depth plus 4 inches..
39. [SGI Bedding, Deep pocket sheets guide](https://sgibedding.com/blogs/news/deep-pocket-sheets-guide) (spec sheet). Supports: Measure mattress plus topper and add about 2 inches; 'deep' means 13 to 17 inches here..
40. [Brooklinen product data: Classic Percale, Luxe Sateen, Brushed Flannel, Washed European Linen](https://www.brooklinen.com/products.json) (spec sheet). Supports: Percale 270 and sateen 495 thread count, long-staple; flannel 140 GSM; linen garment-washed.; Percale 'gets better with every wash'; sets in every size; no-flat-sheet sets sold..
41. [Parachute, Percale and Linen sheet sets](https://www.parachutehome.com/products/percale-sheet-set) (spec sheet). Supports: Percale lists Egyptian long-staple cotton, OEKO-TEX number and 16-inch pocket, no thread count.; Linen is 175 GSM with lint fading after about five washes..
42. [Scandalinen, Linen sheet GSM guide](https://scandalinen.com/blogs/news/how-to-choose-the-right-linen-bedding-weight-a-practical-gsm-guide) (spec sheet). Supports: Its French linen is 165 to 175 GSM; GSM alone does not decide quality..
43. [Amazon, Mellanni Iconic 4-Piece Bed Sheet Set (B00NLLUMOE)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NLLUMOE) (retail listing). Supports: Marketplace titles carry pocket depth: '16" Deep Pocket'..
